Family Medicine Updates



From the American Board of Family Medicine

Ann Fam Med 2013;481-482. doi:10.1370/afm.1572.

AMERICAN BOARD OF FAMILY MEDICINE ELECTS NEW OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of 4 new officers and 3 new board members. The new officers elected at the spring board meeting in April 2013 are: Diane K. Beebe, MD of Jackson, Mississippi elected as Chair; Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD of San Antonio, Texas as Chair-Elect; Erika Bliss, MD of Seattle, Washington as Treasurer; and Alan David, MD of Milwaukee, Wisconsin as Member-at-Large, Executive Committee. In addition, the ABFM welcomes this year's new members to the Board of Directors: Elizabeth G. Baxley, MD of Greenville, North Carolina; Montgomery Douglas, MD of Valhalla, New York; and Eric S. Holmboe, MD of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The new ABFM officers will each serve a 1-year term:



Diane K. Beebe, MD, Chair, is the Chairman of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. She previously served as the Residency Director and Vice-Chairman for the Department of Family Medicine. She is also a member of the ACGME-RRC for Family

Medicine Accreditation Appeals Board and formerly served as Chair of the RRC-FM and on the Academic Council for the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors National Institute for Program Director Development. She is also a member of the ACGME Family Medicine Milestones Committee. Dr. Beebe will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee as its Chair.



Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD, Chair-Elect, is the Chairman of the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He previously was co-director of the Center for Research in Family Medicine and Primary Care and served as chair

of the Research Development Committee of the Association of Departments of Family Medicine (ADFM). He is also an adjunct professor at the University of Texas School of Public Health, San Antonio Regional Campus and a Scholar at the Research to Advance Community Health (ReACH) Center, also in San Antonio. Dr. Jaén will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Operations Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee as its Chair, the Communications/Publications Committee, and the MC-FP Committee.



Erika Bliss, MD, Treasurer, is the lead clinician with Qliance Medical Group of Washington PC in Seattle, and the Director of Medical Care and Advisor with Qliance Medical Management. She served as a Steering Committee Member for Preparing the Personal Physician for Practice (P4) Project. Dr.

Bliss, a 1999 Pisacano Scholar, also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Pisacano Leadership Foundation. Dr. Bliss will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee as its Chair, the Operations Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee as its Chair, the Research & Development Committee, and the MC-FP Committee.



Alan David, MD, Member-at-Large, Executive Committee, is the Chairman of the Department of Family Medicine and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He previously served as the family medicine department chair at the University of Cincinnati and the

University of Kentucky. Dr. David currently serves as the Chair of the Residency Education Committee for the ADFM. He has also served as President and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians. Dr. David will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee, the Communications/Publications Committee, and the MC-FP Committee as its Chair.

The following new Board members will each serve a 5-year term:



Elizabeth G. Baxley, MD is a Professor of Family Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. Prior to this, Dr. Baxley spent 18 years on the faculty of the University of South Carolina School of Medicine, serving as

Chair of the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine from 2003-2012. Her work has focused heavily on health care delivery system redesign and teaching about patient safety and quality improvement. Dr. Baxley will serve the ABFM on the Credentials Committee and the MC-FP Committee.



Montgomery Douglas, MD is Chairman of the Dept. of Family and Community Medicine and Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion at New York Medical College. He served as Board Chair of the New York State Academy of Family Physicians 2012-2013. He's on the Steering Committee of the

New York State Council on Graduate Medical Education. Dr. Douglas was Program Director and Chair of Family Medicine at the former St Vincent Catholic Medical Center/New York Medical College Brooklyn-Queens Family Medicine Residency Program. Dr. Douglas will serve the ABFM on the Operations Committee and the Research & Development Committee.



Eric S. Holmboe, MD is the Chief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). He is also Professor Adjunct in the Department of Internal Medicine at Yale University School of Medicine and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Medicine at the

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Previously, Dr. Holmboe served as Associate Program Director at Yale Primary Care Internal Medicine Residency Program. Dr. Holmboe will serve the ABFM on the Examination Committee and the Research & Development Committee.

The remaining current members of the Board are: Howard Blanchette, MD of Valhalla, New York; Laura Brooks, MD of Lynchburg, Virginia; Jimmy H. Hara, MD of Los Angeles, California; Samuel Jones, MD of Fairfax, Virginia; James Kennedy, MD of Winter Park, Colorado; Christine C. Matson, MD of Norfolk, Virginia; David W. Mercer, MD of Omaha, Nebraska, Marcia J. Nielsen, PhD of Lawrence, KS; Kailie R. Shaw, MD of Tampa, Florida; and Keith L. Stelter, MD of Mankato, Minnesota.

Jane Ireland



Ann Fam Med 2013;482-483. doi:10.1370/afm.1575.

HONOR FAMILY MEDICINE'S BEST AND BRIGHTEST IN EDUCATION, LEADERSHIP, AND RESEARCH

Family medicine is made up of many great educators, leaders, and scholars. It is important to give recognition to the discipline's best and brightest. The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine is now accepting nominations for the following STFM research, leadership, and teaching awards. These awards will be presented at the 2014 STFM Annual Spring Conference, May 3-7, in San Antonio, Texas.

Curtis G. Hames Research Award in Family Medicine—Supported by the Hames Endowment of the Medical College of Georgia, This award is intended to honor those individuals whose careers over the years exemplify dedication to research in family medicine. The award recipient is selected by a committee representing STFM, the American Academy of Family Physicians, and the North American Primary Care Research Group. Nomination deadline is November 15, 2013.

STFM Best Research Paper Award—This award is intended to recognize the best research paper published by an STFM member in a peer-reviewed journal between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013. Award selection is based on the quality of the research and the potential effect of the paper and its importance to patients' health and well-being. *Nomination deadline is November 15*, 2013.