

From the American Board of Family Medicine

Ann Fam Med 2010;8:377-378. doi:10.1370/afm.1152.

AMERICAN BOARD OF FAMILY MEDICINE ELECTS NEW OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of 4 new officers and 3 new board members. The new officers elected at the ABFM's spring meeting in April are: Craig W. Czarsty, MD, of Oakville, Connecticut, elected as Chair; Warren P. Newton, MD, of Chapel Hill, North Carolina as Chair Elect; John R. Bucholtz, DO, of Columbus, Georgia as Treasurer; and Arlene Brown, MD, of Ruidoso, New Mexico as Member-at-Large, Executive Committee. In addition, the ABFM welcomes this year's new members to the Board of Directors: Alan K. David, MD, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Carlos R. Jaén, MD, of San Antonio, Texas; and Kailie R. Shaw, MD, of Tampa, Florida.

The new ABFM officers will each serve a 1-year term:



Craig W. Czarsty, MD, Chair, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2006. He has been practicing family medicine full time in Connecticut since 1983 and has been very involved at the national level in both the production and accreditation of continuing medical education. Dr Czarsty

serves on the medical staffs of both Waterbury and St. Mary's Hospitals. He has served as Watertown's school system's medical director for the last 25 years and as the department surgeon for both Watertown's Police Department and Fire Department for the last 27 years. Dr Czarsty is also the Medical Director for the Watertown Convalarium. He is a founder of Health Horizons International Foundation, an NGO formed to provide primary care to the area around Montellano, Dominican Republic. Dr Czarsty will serve as an ex-officio member of all ABFM Committees.

Warren Newton, MD, Chair-Elect, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2007. Dr. Newton is the Executive Associate Dean for Medical Education and William B. Aycock Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the



University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He has held local, state, and national leadership positions within family medicine and has been involved in the development of the North Carolina Governor's Quality Initiative. Dr Newton will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the

Information & Technology Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee as its Chair, the Communications/Publications Committee, the MC-FP Committee, and as a representative to the American Board of Medical Specialties.



John R. Bucholtz, DO, Treasurer, has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2006. He is the Program Director of the Family Medicine Residency Program and Director of Medical Education at the Medical Center in Columbus, Georgia. Dr Bucholtz will serve the ABFM

on the Executive Committee, Bylaws Committee as its Chair, the Information & Technology Committee, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Research & Development Committee, and the Communications/Publications Committee.



Arlene M. Brown, MD, Memberat-Large, Executive Committee, has been a member of the Board since 2007. She is a practicing family physician with over 20 years' experience caring for her patients and her community. She has taught medical students, residents and mid-level students and has been

involved in quality improvement initiatives. She is a recipient of the New Mexico Family Doctor of the Year Award. Dr Brown will serve the ABFM on the Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee, the Credentials Committee as its Chair, the Examination Committee, the Audit/Finance Committee, the Communications/ Publications Committee, and the MC-FP Committee.

The following new Board members will each serve a 5-year term:

Alan K. David, MD, is the Chairman of the Department of Family Medicine and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He



previously served as the family medicine department chair at the University of Cincinnati and the University of Kentucky. Dr David currently serves as the Chair of the Residency Education Committee for the Association of Departments of Family Medicine. He has also served as President and

Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians. Dr David will serve the ABFM on the Examination Committee and the MC-FP Committee.



Carlos Roberto Jaén, MD, is the Chairman of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHSC) at San Antonio. He is also an adjunct professor at the UTHSC School of Public Health at Houston and is co-director of the Center for Research in Fam-

ily Medicine and Primary Care. Dr Jaén will serve the ABFM on the Information & Technology Committee and the Research & Development Committee.



Kailie R. Shaw, MD, is an Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the University of South Florida, where she also served as the Vice-Chairperson for 15 years. She currently serves on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Psy-

chiatry and Neurology. In addition, she serves on the Finance Planning Committee of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Dr Shaw will serve the ABFM on the Credentials Committee and the Communications/Publications Committee.

The remaining current members of the Board are: Diane K. Beebe, MD, of Jackson, Mississippi; Howard Blanchette, MD, of Valhalla, New York; Erika Bliss, MD, of Seattle, Washington; Thomas H. Cogbill, MD of LaCrosse, Wisconsin; Susan C. Day, MD, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Thomas P. Gessner, MD, of Latrobe, Pennsylvania; Larry A. Green, MD, of Denver, Colorado; Samuel Jones, MD, of Fairfax, Virginia; and Michael G. Workings, MD, of Detroit, Michigan.