Table 1.

Quality and Outcomes Framework

  • Reflects ethos that higher quality care is most likely to be achieved through use of incentives

  • Practices can receive additional funding to reward achievement of range of quality standards

  • Higher standards are rewarded with incrementally higher rewards

  • Four domains in framework

    • Clinical: 10 disease areas

    • Organizational

    • Additional services: cervical screening, child health surveillance, maternity services, contraceptive services

    • Patient experience

  • Quality indicators in each domain are evidence based